img_7750-1

As you all know the majority of the Munster team eat in La Cucina(we’re the back bone of that team I tell you),  pasta is a major part of their diet so our menu suits them perfectly. The main pasta dish they have been eating lately is penne with green pesto and chicken(protein is very important I’m told) so I made red pesto for them last week for a change as they were starting to get bored with the basil pesto. I’ve never had red pesto before and boy have I been missing out, it is so good! I made it for all the staff and they nearly licked the plates clean, Sejla our Italian deli assistant is amazed that I’m able to cook Italian food so well being Irish. Cooking for an Italian is very rewarding as there is always an in depth conversation about the food while eating it, appreciating and identifying every flavour and ingredient, always telling a story about when their mama made the same dish, yours will never be as good by the way but hey that’s ok, you’re just happy they like it! The Munster lads liked it too which is the main thing, now if only I could get them to say that on the t.v ;)

img_7786-1

 

what you need(serves 4):

500g spaghetti or linguine

140g sun-dried tomatoes in oil drained

1 garlic clove

2 tbsp toasted pine nuts

1/2 tsp dried chilli flakes

5 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

sea salt and black pepper

couple of basil leaves

drizzle balsamic vinegar(optional) – about 2 tsp

 

img_7820-2

 

what to do:

place tomatoes, pine nuts, garlic, chilli and oil in a blender and pulse to a smooth paste.

add vinegar and season to taste.

cook your pasta in a pot of salted boiling water until al dente, drain reserving some of the pasta water.

return pasta with the pesto to the pasta pot and toss well to coat. Add reserved cooking water if required(I did)

serve with parmesan cheese and some rocket on top if you like. Can I get a woo hoo for my rocket freshly picked from the garden:)

 

 

 

 

img_7761-1

