Prior to the arrival of the princess we were lucky to wake up before 1pm on a Saturday. I don’t know how many times I went to bed planning on getting up early to go the farmer’s market but of course I rarely did. So with our new waking time of 6am every morning or should I say the middle of the night we’re nearly ready for lunch by 9am. So last week I started my weekly ritual of going to the farmer’s market. I’m going to do a separate post on the market as there are so many different stalls with great produce that it needs a bit of time dedicated to it.

My biggest find last week was purple sprouting broccoli. Superquin do a pre-packed young broccoli which is really good and we use it for penne al broccoli but I’ve never been able to find this variety in Limerick. I’ve read a lot about this purple broccoli and was curious to try it and was delighted to find it at the organic vegetable stall at the market. They also had organic Italian cherry tomatoes, I bought a big bag of course and some organic fruit for the princess.

I cooked roast chicken pieces on Wednesday and I cooked the broccoli as a “contorno”. It has a much stronger flavour than regular broccoli, we loved it. It will be on my weekly shopping list from now on. You can use ordinary broccoli in this recipe if you can’t find this variety.

WHAT YOU NEED:

  • BROCCOLI
  • OLIVE OIL
  • 1 GARLIC CLOVE
  • SEA SALT & BLACK PEPPER OR ALL PURPOSE SEASONING

HOW TO MAKE IT:

  • If you’re using regular broccoli I would boil it in salted water first and then finish it off this way
  • Fill the base of a deep pan with olive oil and heat.
  • Cook your garlic clove until brown and remove, you can add a little chili here if you like.
  • Let your oil cool for a few minutes and then add your broccoli and season. We like to use all purpose aromat seasoning sometimes with vegetables. It gives it a great flavour or else just use sea salt and black pepper.
  • If you are using boiled broccoli just cook and toss for a few minutes.
  • I cooked the purple broccoli for about 15-20 mins and added a little water half way through.

Serve with your main dish and don’t forget the bread for “scarpetta” as there are lots of juices to mop up!!!

 Buon Appetito

