Firstly I must say a big THANK YOU to Anne at the Limerick Leader who did a very nice article on our little blog. There was supposed to be a picture of me and Bru but it didn’t go according to plan so it’s just little old me “o solo mio”.

Anyway back to the task at hand, my sister and her boyfriend were over at the weekend and she loves this antipasto. I have to say we love it too, the combination of flavours is just so good and of course as usual it’s so easy and quick to make. The most important part of all of these dishes is the quality of the ingredients. This is what gives these simple dishes such taste without having to add loads of seasoning or extra spices or flavourings. I would advise everybody to invest in good quality olive oil and balsamic vinegar.  Olio E Farina on little Catherine St do a great selection of oils and vinegars and of course our own aren’t too bad either. When buying parmesan cheese, buy the block and grate it yourself, do not buy the dried parmesan in the pasta section, I repeat, DO NOT BUY THE DRIED PARMESAN!!! there is no excuse for it these days with the selection of cheeses in all the supermarkets and Farmer’s Market!

Bresaola is an air-dried beef originating from the Valtellina Valley in Lombardy where it is cured and air-dried and is then cut very thinly. Superquin is the only place in Limerick that I have seen it, they do the Rovagnati range that I have mentioned before. I think we need to open an Italian food shop!!mmmmmm

I am amazed how popular rocket “rucola” has become in the last couple of years. I think we were ahead of our time when we opened La Cucina in 2003, we couldn’t sell a toasted ciabatta with rocket, parma ham and buffalo mozzarella, actually the amount of Italian food we threw out was unbelievable. We changed our menu so many times, we even did curry chips at one stage. I know, but if we didn’t I wouldn’t be sitting here writing this post! You’ll be glad to hear that times have changed so much and now one of our biggest sellers is the “Italia” – rocket, mozzarella, parma ham, pesto and sun-dried tomatoes on toasted ciabatta.

What you need:

  • 1 packet Rovagnati Bresaola
  • 1 bag of rocket – I’ve never seen fresh rocket in Ireland. It’s completely different in Italy, the leaves are much bigger and it has a much stronger flavour.
  • block of parmesan cheese or pecorino
  • olive oil
  • balsamic vinegar
  • salt
  • crusty bread for “scarpetta”

What to do:

–  lay your slices of bresaola on the plate.

 – put your rocket on top and dress with a couple of pinches of salt and a little balsamic vinegar and olive oil.

 – add some shavings of parmesan or pecorino.

Buon Appetito!!

 

 

 

 

