Big news, the princess has the start of her first tooth, never thought I’d be so excited over a little tooth, it’s amazing how things change!!!Now I know this recipe isn’t Italian but we ate a lot at Bru’s house last week as I was working loads as one of our staff was on holidays so I was back full-time with a bang! After being on holidays, sorry maternity leave for 5 months I was absolutely wrecked and in no mood for cooking. Anyway it worked out great because Bru’s mom was on culinary fire, we had roast chicken, pasta with gorgonzola sauce, rabbit in white wine sauce, procuitto melone, home-made pasta with home-made tomato sauce, today was the icing on the cake with lobster salad and involtini which is veal stuffed with ham and egg. I know, we’re spoilt and we love it!! 

After this selection of food we decided to go traditional for 1 night, I had actually bought all the ingredients last Saturday at the Farmer’s Market. My find of the week last week was definitely cumberland sausage, I find it very difficult to get flavoured sausages anywhere in Limerick. I even travelled to Gareth’s in Raheen where I was sure I would find a good selection of sausages, they had a great selection of every type of meat except sausages. I was very excited to read in the Leader last week that a farm shop has opened in Curraghchase producing all their own pork, I’m going to try and get out there in the next couple of weeks and check it out, if anyone has been there let us know what you thought!!

 Anyway the stall in the market that sells the hot dogs also sells different types of sausages even though he was a bit reluctant to give them to me as he was running low, but I kind of begged him so he gave up and gave me 4. He then forgot to keep me my Italian sausage hot dog and gave it to someone else, we got off to a bad start but I forgave him when we had our bangers and mash. This recipe is based on a Jamie Oliver sausage and mash recipe.

WHAT YOU NEED:

  • 4 large cumberland sausage
  • potatoes  – enough for 2
  • 2 medium red onion sliced 
  • rosemary  – leaves picked
  • 1 clove garlic sliced thinly
  • grated parmesan
  • butter
  • salt  and black pepper
  • 1 beef stock cube
  • 2-3 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

WHAT TO DO:

 – peel your potatoes and cut into large chunks and boil in salted water until cooked.

 – while they are cooking you can make your gravy

fry your onions in a little olive oil in a pot with the lid on for about 15 mins over a very low heat

remove the lid, turn the heat up and cook the onions until brown. Add your vinegar and boil until it disapears.

turn the heat down, add a knob of butter, stock cube and 1/2 pint of water, season with salt and pepper and let simmer.

I let the gravy simmer for about 20-25 mins until it was quite thick.

 – while this is simmering cook your sausages on a grill pan in a little olive oil, a few leaves of rosemary and your sliced garlic.

 – when your potatoes are boiled add a large knob of butter, salt, a glug of olive oil and 3 good handfuls of grated parmesan cheese. Taste and add more salt and parmesan if it is not the tastiest mash you’ve ever had!.

 – place your mash on a plate and make a tower with your sausages and pour your onion gravy over the top.

Serve once again with a bottle of chilled Peroni beer.

Buon Appetito!! 

