OK people, if I can just say 2 words – MENU PLANNING. As and from this week forward I am going to menu plan for the week ahead. I know I sound like a right little housewife and maybe I am but trying to decide everyday what to eat is just driving me and Bru crazy. Everyday it’s the same thing trying to decide at the last minute what to have for dinner and driving each other mad trying to make the other one decide – we take our food very seriously and both of us are so indecisive it’s not funny!

So, in order to save our relationship and our sanity I have decided to sit down for 10 mins every Sat and get out the cookbooks or magazines and compile my list for the week. I did it last week and believe me it made such a difference, I went shopping last Saturday armed with my list and we ate well everyday and lived in “happy couple bliss”:). I think if a lot more people did this they mightn’t eat so much convenience food and you can vary your week by having a bit of everything – pasta, soup, fish, meat, salad etc. The marriage counsellors will go out of business:0!!

So Wednesday was soup day, to be honest I had earmarked this soup from Giorgio Locatelli’s book for the winter after making his delicious broccoli soup but with the weather we had all week there was no choice but to have a big hearty warm soup to heat up the bones! To make matters worse my parents are in the south of Italy in 30 degrees of sunshine, and text me every now and again to remind me just in case I might have forgotten – as if!!

Once again it was very simple and just a little bit of prep and chopping involved, there really is no excuse for using convenience soups as home-made soups are so fast and easy to make once you plan it and get organised!

WHAT YOU NEED:

  • 1 white onion – finely chopped
  • 1 carrot – finely chopped
  • 1 celery stalk – finely chopped
  • 1 small leek – finely chopped
  • 2 cans of cannellini beans – drained and rinsed. If you can get your hands on fresh great, or dried leave to soak overnight.
  • 1 sprig of rosemary
  • small bunch of sage
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1.5 litres vegetable or chicken stock – I used stock cubes
  • salt and pepper.
  • 6 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

WHAT TO DO:

 – heat half the oil in a pot and add the vegetables. Cook for 5-10 mins until they are soft but not coloured.

 – add the beans and the herbs and cook for 2-3 mins.

 – add 1 litre of hot stock and bring to the boil, turn down the heat and simmer for about 30 mins until everything is soft. I removed the bay leaves and the sprig from the rosemary.

 – take off the heat and liquidize, if it is too thick just add more stock. Mine was fine with just the 1 litre! 

 – taste and season, serve in bowls, drizzling over the rest of the olive oil , sprinkle with some chopped rosemary and some grinded black pepper.

BUON APPETITO!!

 – It’s beans and soups all round this week in the blogsphere, check out Laura’s delicious “Fagioli Alla Pizzaiolla” made with fresh barlotti beans no less – she got them in Lidl of all places and Abulfia’s Chickpea & Pancetta soup which was next on my agenda but she beat me to it(damn)! Liking the new look Abulfia – tried to leave a comment but couldn’t:( and Ilva’s barlotti beans with shrimps and onions! Tasty recipes all round!!

