My Internet connection is still down and the most frustrating part of the whole thing is that nobody knows what is wrong with it. I wouldn’t mind if there was light at the end of the tunnel but I have to wait 5 days for BT who in turn have to wait for Eircom to check the line and if that’s not the problem I then have to wait another 7 days for a new modem and if that’s not the problem then there is a chance of someone coming to the house to check it out – AGHHHHHHHHHHHH!

I have to say the people at the other end of the phone a.k.a Customer Care Representatives don’t really care, it’s all lies! I’ve probably been on to them twice a day and if you ever want to feel stupid and in my case very blond ring BT for help. After the interrogation about lengths of wires, modems, routers, DSL lines etc and not knowing the answers and trying to laugh it off to a stony silence on the other end I felt like saying to one particular Customer Care Rep – let me ask you a question buddy “DO YOU KNOW HOW TO MAKE PESTO FROM SCRATCH?????I didn’t think so:)

You don’t realise how much the Internet has become a part of your daily life until you are without it and especially when you are at home with an 8 month old in this weather,  it is your only contact with the outside world 😦 –  OK a little exaggeration but I do miss it. I have abandoned her for the moment and left her with her grandmother for half an hour just so I could get my fix, I haven’t even been able to check my emails – O MY GOD!!. I’m doing this post in Bruno’s mother’s house sitting on the floor with my big yellow DSL line( I know all the lingo now) attached to their computer which is a mile away from a chair or a bed – feel sorry for me people because I’m feeling sorry for myself!!Just a quick recipe today, god knows when I’ll be back again, after my veal post I decided I better offer a peace offering in the form of a vegetarian pasta recipe. I wasn’t going to post this as my photographs turned out really bad as you can see below and I think the photo is definitely the most important part of the post especially if I’m trying to entice people to cook the recipes. I need to invest in a good camera I think, mmmm my birthday is coming up soon  – BRUNO??? I use a basic Sony digital camera at the moment and if I take the pictures during the day when there is lots of natural light it is fine but I took the picture below at night and that was the result – BAD!

I ended up having to take a picture the next day of the ingredients above just so I wouldn’t embarrass myself too much with my bad photography. This pasta dish was really tasty and is a nice variation of the regular tomato sauce.WHAT YOU NEED FOR 2:

  • 1 tin of Italian tomatoes
  • 2 tbsp ricotta cheese
  • olive oil
  • 6-10 fresh basil leaves
  • orecchiette
  • salt
  • sugar
  • pecorino cheese – I used this instead of parmesan as it has a much stronger flavour and complimented the dish really well but you can still use parmesan if you prefer!!

 WHAT TO DO:

 – heat some olive oil in a deep pan and add your tomatoes and salt and simmer for 20 mins.

 – bring a pot of water to the boil, add salt and your pasta and cook until al dente.

 – mash up your tomatoes with a fork and add a little sugar if the sauce is a little bitter. We used about a teaspoon.

 – add your ricotta and basil and a little more salt and let simmer for about 5 mins.

 – drain your pasta and mix altogether and grate some fresh pecorino cheese on top!

BUON APPETITO!

 – Until the next rendezvous whenever and where ever it shall be!!!

CIAO TUTTI!!

