Since starting this blog I have begun to realise how difficult it is to source Italian ingredients or speciality ingredients in Ireland. We obviously  have access to whatever we need but the odd time when we don’t have it I’ve found it next to impossible to find anything. The most recent being porcini and Risotto rice, I tried 3 supermarkets and not one had either of them. When Superquinn have the rice it is either Arborio or Carnoroli, never the 2 together! My sister has recently moved to Sligo and says it is virtually impossible to find anything there and this is probably true for the majority of the country besides Dublin and Cork- correct me if I’m wrong. I know in Limerick there are no speciality delis besides ourselves and Olio e Farina for Italian products. The problem with our place is it is so small that we can only stock so much so I was thinking of setting up a little online Italian shop just selling the basics to start with. I just wanted to ask you all what you think???? Is it something that  is needed or do people buy from the various sites that exist already especially in the UK?? Would you buy from it? What kind of products would you buy? I would love some feedback and would greatly appreciate it if anyone who has an interest in it to leave your thoughts in the comments section! Don’t be shy now people!!

I’ve noticed a lot more requests from customers lately regarding certain products so we have begun to stock the following lines:

DE CECCO RISOTTO RICE – CARNAROLI AND ARBORIO AND ITALIAN TOMATO PUREE

 

00 FLOUR – DIVELLA AND DE CECCO AND CANNELLINI BEANS

 

BISCUITS FOR TIRIMASU AND MULINO BIANCO BISCUITS

 

SPECIALITY OLIVE OIL JUST FOR FRYING AND ITALIAN FRUIT JUICES

 

ITALIAN STOCK CUBES AND PORCINI

DE CECCO PASTA – We have expanded our range, we now stock penne, spaghetti, tagliatelle, fusilli, orrechiette, rigatoni, lasagna sheets -spinach and plain.

We’ve also brought back our tapenades(pictured above, they are actually called pate in Italy. We have 3 types- black olive, green olive and sun dried tomato. We will do our best to keep them in stock and make them fresh everyday.

Let me know your thoughts!!!

Grazie a tutti!!!

Ciao:)

