The lovely Limerick lady bloggers met up for dinner again last night, myself, Laura, Maz, Mary T and Val who we all met for the first time as she has just moved back to Limerick. It’s funny when you meet other bloggers as you feel like you know them already and we all get on great. We went for Indian in Copper and Spice which I have to say is our regular take-away haunt so it was nice to actually sit down and eat it fresh – nan bread just isn’t the same from a foil bag:) I was driving so an early night was had by all. Mary T is off to Australia in September so we just want to wish her all the best and hope she has a fabulous time , we did the year in Australia in 1995 and loved every minute of it.

Maz was talking about my last potato salad post and how she has made it for everyone and they all love it and I was telling her about this one I made a while back from Angela Hartnett’s new book but was in 2 minds about posting it as it is quite similar. As she pointed out Irish people can’t get enough of potatoes so I said “what the hell!”  This is Angela’s Nonna’s (grandmother)recipe:

WHAT YOU NEED:

  • new baby potatoes – washed and skins left on
  • 300ml olive oil
  • 100ml white wine vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 1 garlic clove, lightly crushed with the palm of your hand or in my case  smashed with a knife;)
  • 1 shallot or red onion finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp chopped flat parsley – as you can see we were all out of greenery!!
  • sea salt and black pepper

WHAT TO DO:

 – place the potatoes in  a pan of salted water and bring to the boil, reduce the heat and simmer for about 20 mins until soft

 – In a large bowl mix the oil, vinegar and mustard. Add the garlic to infuse and season to taste.

 – when the potatoes are cooked, drain and cut in half, do this while they are still hot.

 – add the hot potatoes( they absorbe the flavour better) and shallots to the vinaigrette and mix. Remove the garlic and season to taste.

 – scatter the parsley over the top(my photo would have looked better with greenery) and SERVE!!

 BUON APPETITO!!

p.s. I got my first email to my gmail account so I need your help with a query. Where can one buy fresh yeast in Dublin 2? If you know just comment or send a quick email.

Grazie a tutti:)

