Just a quick post today as it’s been so busy this week, this weather is so good for the shop. The students are also back in UL so we had a big catering job for 60 today on top of being extra busy in the shop. I worked for my minimum wage today:) We have a wedding tomorrow, a black tie affair no less and of course nothing ready as usual. We are the worst 2 you could ever invite to a wedding, we are always late, actually we are late for everything. I don’t know how many times we have turned up at the end of the ceremony or didn’t even make the church which is what happened at the last wedding we were at a couple of weeks ago. We had a wedding in Killarney a couple of years back and of course we were late as usual, found the church, tore up the road in heels I might add, we could see all the people outside taking the photos etc so we tried to sneak in unnoticed. No one noticed alright because we were at the wrong bloody wedding!!By the time we got to the other church it was well and truly over!

We’re the same when it comes to the gift, which normally involves stopping in a corner shop on the way to the church to buy a card and stick some money in it and even at that we have left it in the car or worse still left it in my handbag resulting in a few past friends getting their wedding cards many months later – sorry to everyone we have done this to because there have been a few!! The last wedding in August I had to ring my mother on the way and ask her to run over to the shop and buy the card – I know, we are an absolute disgrace! This happens with everything- birthdays, baby gifts. I thought when I became a “mamma” I might change and become more responsible and organised but I’m still as bad as ever. Do I have a card and a gift for tomorrow – OF COURSE NOT!! We’ll just buy it on the way:)

Amongst all the chaos of this week I managed to make this lovely berry tart from this month’s Delicious magazine. I tend to shy away from making desserts and sweets as I always think they are more difficult than they are and every time I make one I’m surprised at how easy it actually is. This recipe is so easy and perfect for anybody who thinks like me and never make anything sweet, this is your chance to change:)

WHAT YOU NEED:

  • icing sugar for dusting
  • sheet of puff pastry – I used one of the Jus Roll sheets from the 2 pack
  • 250g tub mascarpone
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 400g strawberries
  • 200g rasberries
  • 250g blueberries or blackberries
  • mint leaves – optional( I hate mint with food, mint is for Mojitos and that’s it but I used them for “display purposes only” and then I picked them all off:)

WHAT TO DO:

 – preheat the oven to 200 degrees

 – dust a work surface with icing sugar and roll out your puff pastry with a rolling pin

 – place on a large non-stick baking tray and prick the pastry all over with a fork. Bake for 15 mins until golden brown and risen.

 – Using a fish slice flip the pastry over, then press down all over to flatten. Bake for a further 5 mins and transfer to a wire rack to cool down completely.

 – in a bowl mix the mascarpone and vanilla extract ( I think a little sugar wouldn’t have went astray here also)

 – spread it over the pastry and arrange your fruit on top.

 – sprinkle some icing sugar over the fruit and decorate with mint leaves if you like.

 – serve and enjoy the gasps of approval!!

BUON APPETITO!!

p.s. This is my submission for a great blogging event called “IN THE BAG” which focuses on seasonal ingredients, this months theme is fruit.

