Ok, I wasn’t going to post about this until after the event but I’ve decided “what the hell”!! I received an email from RTE Radio 1 on Tuesday from the Derek Mooney show asking me if I would be interested in coming on the show to talk about Italian food on Thursday but this has since been changed to Monday, Caroline from Bibliocook had kindly mentioned me – Thanks Caroline!!. They are doing a feature with Paulo Tullio(he is a big food and wine critic here in Ireland for all my International readers who I am a big fan of)about Italian food in Ireland, how it’s not authentic e.g cream in Carbonara etc. He has written a few articles in the Independent recently regarding this issue and I’ve actually spoken about it here before. My first reaction was panic, O MY GOD what will I say and how can I get out of it??? But after a few stiff brandies I told myself not to be so stupid and think of all the publicity for the shop and what a privilege to be asked!! In saying that I will be so nervous and that’s why I wasn’t going to tell anyone, I did tell my bloggie friend Laura and swore her not to tell a soul so now she’ll thing I’m a looner when reading this:) Initially it was supposed to be on the phone which was fine and then the researcher had the great idea of me going into the Limerick studios and going “LIVE” – (Aghhhhhhh!!!!) and Paulo(my buddy;) will be live in the Dublin studio!! It’s funny I’ve no problem at all sitting here babbling away day after day or burning the ear off all the customers in the shop but when put in this situation panic sets in, I’m sure there will be lots of silent pauses and am, am, am, am and like, like, like!! Hopefully Paulo will be gentle, he always seems really nice on The Restaurant and he does eat in the cousin’s restaurant in Atina so I might try and butter him up by throwing that in:)

This is a little gem of a recipe from Gordon Ramsay’s( a.k.a Chef Ramsay on Hell’s Kitchen U.S.A) Fast Food Book which is great when you want something quick and easy with just a few ingredients. I know anchovies aren’t that popular in Ireland but they really aren’t that strong in this dish – in saying that I would eat kilos of them at a time.

WHAT YOU NEED:

  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 garlic cloves peeled and thinly sliced
  • 200g marinated anchovies roughly chopped – we have them in La Cucina
  • bunch of flat leaf parsley roughly chopped
  • 300g spaghetti or linguine.
  • sea salt and black pepper
  • freshly grated parmesan – I know I always say no cheese on fish pasta but it worked on this one???? Don’t know why??
  • serves 4.

WHAT TO DO:

 – cook your spaghetti in boiling salted water until al dente.

 – heat the olive oil in a large pan, add the garlic and fry over a medium heat until golden brown at the edges. Stir in the chopped anchovies.

 – drain the spaghetti and tip into the pan with the garlic and anchovies. Add the chopped parsley, black pepper and toss well.

 – serve with grated parmesan and a drizzle of olive oil.

P.S – can you all say a little prayer for me and wish me luck:)

