So my 5 minutes of fame didn’t materialise today, Paulo had to cancel again, does he not realise what a busy Ladeee I am??? All I can say is what a waste of 6 brandies;) It’s still going to happen but I don’t have a definite date yet but when I know you will know! The worst part was that I was all prepared, had my little notes done out and everything, it was like being back at college getting ready for a presentation. In the end I wasn’t as nervous today as I thought I would be but that probably would have all changed once I was in the studio and had a breakdown live in front of the whole country:) I was talking to “THE MIL” yesterday about it and she was looking at me wondering “what the hell has happened to this world???” here was her “IRISH DIL” not even married to her son by the way who used to call gnocchi “yucky” going on national radio talking about Italian food, the one she had to beat Italian food into!! “THE FIL” couldn’t give a damn, I started to tell him in the restaurant while he was sorting out the reservations for Saturday night which is never a good idea anyway and he just walked away while I was mid sentence “do you know Paulo Tullio??” yaaaaaa and he was gone so no brownie points earned there then, DAMN!! these Italians are tough!!!!:)

With all this talk of authentic Italian food I was just watching The Barefoot Contessa, she has the best “pantry” ever, it’s huge and everything looks so organised and in it’s place, I want a cool American pantry for Christmas;)! Tonight’s episode was about pasta, I’m always amazed by the amount of ingredients she uses in everything and the amount of butter and cream but tonight she made pesto and even I was shocked. She used all the regular ingredients but then added walnuts, lemon juice, mayo and loads of pepper to make it “spicy” – WHY??? She made a pesto and pea pasta salad using both farfalle and fusilli?? and then they all ate it on the beach out of Chinese take-away cartons with chopsticks – now she is really pushing it! PAULO!!!!!

This is one of those recipes to use up whatever you have left in the fridge, every time I go to the market I buy too many olives and sun-dried tomatoes etc so this salad is great for using them up! You can add whatever you like to it!!

WHAT YOU NEED:

  • 250g fusilli –
  • can Italian tuna
  • black olives
  • green olives
  • cherry tomatoes or sun-dried – we have really good cherry sun-dried tomatoes in La Cucina at the moment.
  • 1 bag mozzarella cheese – diced
  • basil or flat leaf parsley
  • red wine vinegar
  • tea spoon mustard
  • olive oil
  • sea salt and black pepper

WHAT TO DO

 – cook your pasta in a pot of salted boiling water until al dente, drain and leave to cool.

 – mix everything together and ENJOY!!!

 

BUON APPETITO!!

