We are officially starting our new take-away meals this week, we had a trial run last week and we used ourselves and our neighbours as guinea pigs and it went down really well!! We had a porcini encrusted rack of lamb served with baby new potatoes with rosemary and garlic and a side of cabbage “Italian style”. It took 15 minutes to heat in the oven and it was as good as you would get in any restaurant if I say so myself. I’ve roped in 4 of the Munster team to try them out tomorrow night even though I have to say, it didn’t take much persuasion. I will post the menu towards the end of the week and because it is a new concept and I’m feeling rather generous I’m going to give one of my Limerick blog readers a meal for 2 with a lovely bottle of Italian wine compliments of Alfredo and you can let us know what you think??? – I know, I know I’m too kind:)

All you have to do is leave your name in the comment section, just your first name if you prefer or send me an email, La Cucina customers can enter in the shop!! This isn’t going to happen again so take advantage;)

Monday night is always lazy on the cooking front so bruschetta often features, I found this recipe in my latest book purchase Ursela Ferrigno’s “Complete Italian Cookery Course” , the book is really good and I have bookmarked lots of  recipes!! My cookbook collection is starting to grow by the week – damn TK MAXX;)

WHAT YOU NEED:

 – 4 red onions

 – 1 bay leaf

 – 1 sprig rosemary, leaves chopped

 – 2 tbsp red wine vinegar

 – 55g soft brown sugar – I used light muscovado

 – 4 slices bruschetta bread or ciabatta/country style bread

 – pecorino cheese

 – 2 tbsp olive oil

WHAT TO DO:

 – heat the olive oil in a pan, add the onions, bay leaf and rosemary.

 – brown the onions well over a low to medium heat, stirring regularly.

 – add the vinegar and stir well.

 – add the sugar and cook over a low heat for 20-30 mins and leave to cool.

 – heat a grill pan until hot and cook your bread on each side until lightly toasted and charred at the edges.

 – place your onions on top of your bread and serve with shavings of pecorino.

It was absolutely delicious and so easy to make so add it to your menu plan this week:)

Buon Appetito!!!

p.s. if any La Cucina customers want to buy a little loaf of bruschetta bread, just let me know and we can make it for you. At the moment we just make huge loaves of bread but it’s no problem to make the small ones too but we will only do them to order!! Just send me an email or let me know in the comments!!

