I’m loving Channel 4 at the moment with the amount of foodie programmes they are showing!! The big food fight is proving to be one of the most informative pieces of TV I have ever seen about food and the direct relationship with our bodies and health. I thought I knew a lot about the food I eat but after watching “Chicken Out” and Jamie’s “Fowl Dinners” I realise I still have so much to learn. I know we all hear about battery raised chickens etc but it’s not until you see it in real life do you realise the extent of what goes on. I couldn’t believe the factory where all the little chicks were processed like cans of beans along a conveyor belt. In my innocence or ignorance I presumed they were all born on farms with their mothers and everything was natural and as it should be. I even shed a little tear when the little male chicks were gassed on Jamie’s show because we are so far removed from the whole meat process that we have no idea what actually happens. The chicken out campaign is continuing and you can sign up here

                                          

Jamie’s “Eat to live” programme last night was another informative piece of TV with lots of shock value with the corpse being cut up but if that’s what it takes for people to wake up and start questioning what we are eating then so be it! Ready meals and convenience food seems to be the biggest problem today, I can’t believe that some people never cook and only eat junk food all the time and most of the people on the show seemed to do this. It was interesting as well that the thinner guy was actually the least fit and had a much higher body fat ratio than the heavier guy who played rugby and who was considered obese. This kind of fits in with my last post, we all focus on weight so much and although it is very important I think what we put into our body is of greater importance. I couldn’t believe the amount of sugar and salt that was in a simple jar of tomato sauce, a lot of people would probably think they were being good by having pasta with a jar of tomato sauce and not realizing that there was 8 teaspoons of sugar in it so once again the message is make your own and he demonstrated how easy and fast it was using a recipe very similar to this one. There is another programme on tonight about eating out and what the food contains so I’ll be glued to the telly again with a bottle of water and an apple;)

I saw this recipe in Taste Italia magazine recently, it’s a great healthy snack that takes 5 minutes to make and is delicious. It’s great to have in the fridge and use with crostini, grissini or some veggie sticks.

what you need:

 – 400g can of cannellini beans drained and rinsed

 – 2 sprigs of thyme, leaves picked.

 – 1 small garlic clove.

 – olive oil

 – juice of 1 lemon

 – sea salt and black pepper

what to do:

 – put everything into the food processor and mix together!! It’s that easy:)

                                     

buon appetito

