I don’t think there is anything more simple than vegetable soup, you can basically use up whatever veg you have in your fridge!! I’ve noticed recently that the convenience soup section in the supermarket seems to be getting bigger and bigger and even the chilled soups are overtaking the chill cabinet!! I know a lot of people do make soup from scratch but I get the feeling that they are way out numbered by the amount of people that don’t!! I think people assume that soups are a lot more difficult to make than they actually are and I know the food purists would have my head but just use stock cubes if you don’t have time to make fresh stock, if it means that you will make your own soup I’m all for it!! Now there is nothing groundbreaking or gourmet about this recipe but if it gets somebody who reads this blog to make soup who doesn’t normally, my work for the people is done:) You can use any veg you want and just roughly chop them as you will be liquidizing them anyway, this is the way I normally make mine!!

what you need:

 – 1 carrot peeled and chopped

 – 2 leeks chopped

 – 1 onion chopped

 – 1 garlic clove peeled and chopped

 – 1 courgette chopped

 – 2 potatoes peeled and chopped.

 – broccoli – I use the tender stem broccoli if I have it or else just use a head of regular broccoli!

 – 1 litre chicken or veg stock (I use the Kallo chicken stock cubes)

 – olive oil

 – sea salt and black pepper

what to do:

 – heat some olive oil in a saucepan and cook your garlic and onion until soft but not coloured.

 – add the rest of your vegetables, season and cook for 10 mins to soften.

 – add your stock and leave to simmer for 20 – 30 mins or until all your veg is cooked.

 – take off the heat and liquidize.

 – serve with some freshly grated parmesan cheese.

                                         

On another note just to let you know that Eoin Purcell has just launched a great new foodie site called OUR GRANNIES RECIPES which aims to collect 101 of Ireland’s favourite traditional recipes!! The recipes will be collected into a book for publication in October 2008 and the royalties will be donated to Age Action Ireland. The great thing about the whole idea is that we can all be involved by submitting our favourite traditional recipes and judging the final cover for the book!! Best of luck Eoin and we’ll definitely be buying a copy in October, now let me see what recipe I’m going to submit, it will have to be “nonna’s” recipe in our case:)

buon appetito!!

