I’m just back from the market, I hadn’t been in ages and every time I go I question why I don’t go more often. I wrapped up the princess and the 2 of us headed off in the bitter cold to stock up for the week, well that was the plan until I saw the pig on the spit which Sarah had mentioned a while back!  This is a great addition to the market, an organic meat company based in Adare have a huge pig on a spit outside their shop in the market whereby you can have a bap with beautifully cooked pork with stuffing, honey and mustard dressing and apple sauce which myself and Maz who I had met in the queue passed on – we just don’t do fruit with food!! Of course we ended up chatting while stuffing our faces, well more me really as she shared her bap with her “boy” whereas I ate “solo”, we probably bored him to death with all the bloggie talk!! That’s the great thing about the market, everywhere you look there are people chatting and catching up, it turns into a real social outing. I’ve said it before but I would really love to see the market becoming a permanent fixture as it would be great for the community and the city itself! If they pedestrianised that area and zoned it for cafes and food shops it would really set Limerick up as a foodie haven!! I suppose I can dream:)

We often have pesto as we make it about 3 times a week in La Cucina but it’s always the traditional way with basil which seems to be in severe shortage at the moment as we are finding it very difficult to get from our supplier. We had a couple of bags of rocket in the fridge so we decided to try a rocket pesto for a change!! We had no pine nuts so I did a google search to see if there was any other recipe we could try! I found this Gino di Campo recipe on the BBC food site which suited us perfectly as we had all the ingredients and really enjoyed the end result. Dare I say it but we had it with “roasted tomato and mozzarella ravioli” from the supermarket(Superquinn’s superior range) – ssshhhhhh tell no one:)

                         

what you need:

 – 200g rocket

 – garlic – I used the purple garlic pictured above which is very strong so I only used a quarter of a clove but the recipe calls for a full clove.

 – 10 tbsp olive oil

 – 1 tbsp capers

 – 2 tbsp white wine vinegar

 – 100g freshly grated Parmesan cheese

 – salt

what to do:

 – we just liquidised the whole lot with a hand blender and served with the ravioli with lots of Parmesan cheese on top!!

                                         

buon appetito!!

p.s. I won’t be here for a couple of days as I’ll be having a nibble here
 

and a nap here

