So, the novelty of sleeping with my award has worn off and I only shine it every 2 hours instead of every hour now;) and it has been returned to La Cucina and put in it’s place of pride on the shelf  beside the Mulino Bianco biscuits for everyone to marvel at! I don’t think anyone has even noticed it, they are too distracted by Laura’s damn cupcakes:) The princess is better even though she’s about half the size she was last week from not eating and she has passed it onto Bru so he was on dry toast and boiled risotto rice yesterday so I was eating alone!! I always notice this about Italians, they always know what to eat for different ailments whereas I stay in denial and still have chocolate biscuits when I’m sick just to cheer myself up whereas Bruno won’t even put butter on his toast but I still would. Bruno’s family always eat boiled risotto rice with just a drop of olive oil for an upset tummy whereas I still want to add Parmesan but they aren’t even tempted because it will disagree with their stomach, they cure everything with food before medicine whereas we tend to go straight to the chemist!!

 I was in the mood for pasta but not interested in doing anything too difficult when cooking for one so I had a quick look through my selection of cookbooks, the majority purchased in Tk Maxx at a quarter of the price. My newest addition is “Fresh Italian” by Marina Filipelli which is a good enough book, the photos are very good and she gives nutritional analysis and healthy tips on all the recipes but I just didn’t find anything new or very exciting about it but it’s still a good one for the collection!! 

I spotted this recipe and it’s very similar to a recipe we do with prawns but I liked the idea of using sea bass for a change as it is a fish I would never put with pasta. I have to say it was absolutely delicious and I loved it and will  definitely be making it again for 2 the next time. Bruno looked a bit depressed to be honest while I was ooing and ah-hing while stuffing my face beside him while he drank some more flat 7up!!:)

                                           

what you need for 2:

 – 2 sea bass: I got mine in Superquinn and got them to fillet them for me so I would use 2 fillets per person as they were not that big. Remove the meat from the skin and chop into small chunks.

 – 250g sweet tomatoes: I used the San Marzano plum tomatoes from Italy available in SQ which are really good, sometimes Dunnes have them too!! If you can’t get your hands on any you can use a tin of tomatoes, the De Cecco pomodorini are really good but add a teaspoon of sugar if using tinned tomatoes.

 – 1/4 tsp dried chili

 – 1 garlic clove

 – tbsp flat leaf parsley chopped

 – 125ml dry white wine

 – olive oil

 – salt

 – pasta: I used Cordellia fresh tagliatelle that we sell in packets in La Cucina but you can use dried spaghetti or tagliatelle too.

what to do:

 – if you are using fresh tomatoes you need to skin them so bring a small pot of water to the boil and put your tomatoes in for about 2 minutes and drain. Leave to cool and peel the skin off and chop.

 – bring a pot of water to the boil, add salt and your pasta and cook until al dente.

 – fill the base of a deep pan with olive oil and cook your garlic clove until brown and remove, add your chili flakes and remove from heat for a couple of mins.

 – add your tomatoes and put back on heat, add your wine and a little sea salt and cook for about 10 mins over a medium heat until sauce thickens up.

 – when your pasta is almost ready add your fish and parsley to your sauce and cook for about 3-4 mins. The fish cooks quite fast so don’t cook for too long.

 – add the drained pasta and a little of the water to the sauce and mix together and cook for a couple of mins and serve.

 – I served mine with a little rocket on top and a squeeze of lemon juice which added a nice bite and flavour to the dish. Just to really annoy him I washed it down with a big glass of chilled Pinot Grigio:)

                                           

buon appetito!!

