There seems to be a bit of a competition going on in the Italian foodie house at the moment as to who is the sickest, the princess is definitely winning in the moaning section followed closely by me and then a little bit behind surprisingly is Bru!! The 3 of us picked it up on our trip to Canterbury for the “wedding of the year” from the bride, father of the bride and mother of the bride, yes we were all sick on the day of the wedding!! My poor sister was so sick I don’t know how she got through the day, all I can say is thank god for fake tan and false eyelashes, she looked stunning, and the 3 of us “brideslaves”;) scrubbed up pretty well too so I heard anyway:). I will do a post on it when I have some pics, the venue was fab even though it didn’t stop raining once that day which was such a disappointment as the hotel was set on the most amazing grounds, lake, swans, you name it, it had it but more of that later!! In case you didn’t know we’re off to Italy on Sunday and a really bad flu is not something I had planned on packing so there is no fancy recipe today just a big pot of minestrone soup to try and fight this flu along with every drug possible;) There are so many different minestrone recipes out there, I’ve already posted one here but this is the one I normally make!!

what you need:

 – 1 onion finely diced

 – 1 clove garlic finely chopped

 – 1 carrot diced

 – 2 sticks celery diced

 – 1 large potato diced

 – 1 courgette or 4 baby courgettes diced.

 – tenderstem broccoli(optional)

 – sprig of thyme

 – bay leaf (optional) it was too wet to go down the back garden to the bay leaf tree, hey I was wearing my new white Nike’s!!!!:)

 –  200g frozen peas

 – 1 litre chicken or veg stock

 – olive oil

 – knob of butter

 – sea salt and black pepper.

 
 

what to do:

 – fill the base of your pot with olive oil and heat with your butter.

 – add your onion, garlic, carrots, celery, thyme and cook for about 10 mins until softened but not coloured.

 – add your stock and potatoes, season and cook for a further 10 mins, add your courgettes, peas and broccoli and cook for another 5-10 mins until all your veg is soft.

 – check your seasoning and serve with grated Parmesan or pecorino and some flat leaf parsley on top.

                                               

buon appetito!!

p.s. the fabulous Marie and Maryann are hosting a great blogging event called “Festa Italiana” which I had planned on making something “fabulous” for this week but that’s obviously gone out the window so sorry “Ladies”. You can have my pot of “wholesome goodness” if it’s not too boring???:)

p.p.s. I shall be thinking of you all while eating and drinking my way through the south of Italy, don’t worry I’ll take lots of pics just to rub it in a little more:)

Ciao

