The title does sound pretty fancy doesn’t it??,  but today I’m basically giving you ” fancy beans on toast – Italian style”!! I will be the first to admit I’m not adverse to the odd can of heinz on a couple of slices of Brennan’s “big toast” smothered in some Kerrygold and when I was in college it was one of the main staples of my student diet along with the pints of heineken:) Seeing that I have come a long way since even though this could be questioned some days I decided to share this more gourmet version with you!!

One thing I always have in my cupboard is a couple of tins of cannellini and borlotti beans, cannellini for this recipe and the borlotti for my scrambled eggs on toast recipe, yes I know, we are posh!! These 2 recipes are great when you’ve nothing to cook and want to use some leftovers to produce something quick and tasty!! I bought lots of prawns to make “spaghetti al cartoccio”  but as usual things didn’t go according to plan so rather than throw them out we had them this way!!

what you need:

 – prawns (fresh or frozen) I got shelled tiger prawns in Superquinn even though I suspect they are frozen, defrosted, fresh as they didn’t have a great flavour!! The full prawns in their shells were much better but do require a bit of cleaning and work but it’s worth it if you have the time!! If you don’t have prawns this recipe would be fine without or use Maz at Style Treaty‘s recipe with bacon!!

 – 250g ripe tomatoes – Irish tomatoes are really good at the moment so I used Irish plum tomatoes!! If you can’t get your hands on any good ones you could use a tin of tomatoes or leftover tomato sauce!!

 – 1 garlic clove finely diced

 – 1 tsp dried chilli (optional)

 – 1 x 400g can cannellini beans

 – 1 tbsp flat leaf parsley

 – 1 tbsp basil(optional)

 – juice half lemon

 – sea salt and black pepper

 – olive oil

                      

what to do:

 – if using fresh tomatoes blanch your tomatoes in boiling water for 1 min and drain, peel off the skin and roughly chop.

 – fill the base of a pan with olive oil and fry the garlic and chilli for a couple of minutes until softened but not browned, add your tomatoes and cook for 5-7 mins. If you are using a tin of tomatoes I would leave it cook a little longer and maybe add a tsp of sugar!!

 – add your prawns and cook for another 5-10 mins until cooked through, add your herbs and mix through.

 – season and add your lemon juice.

 – heat a grill pan and cook your bread on both sides and rub some garlic on 1 side and drizzle with olive oil.

 – serve your prawns on your garlic bread and serve with some fresh parsley on top and a cup of tea if you live in Ireland:)

                                

buon appetito!!

