The rugby talk is over and it’s back to recipes and food talk, well kind of!!!! To be honest I’ve been a bit lazy since moving into the new house and the lack of freezer and oven aren’t helping so I haven’t really cooked much so I’m dragging out some oldies I have stored and not used. This has turned into the longest 10 days ever to have my finished kitchen, it’s closer to 30 or 40 at this stage and there is still no end in sight. Now I’m being a bit of moaner to be honest as I still have my FIVE gas rings even though I’ll probably never use them all!

                          

but then I look down and see this

                          

and I get depressed, crack open a bottle of wine to drown my sorrows and ring the MIL to see if she’s cooking anything. I tell myself she loves having us round so I’m really thinking of her plus the wine industry is in crisis so I’m just doing my bit for the world:) I know – a saint!!!!!

This recipe is from way back about a month ago when I was an OO (oven owner), I found it in Delicious mag and loved the result so it’s a keeper. We still eat roast chicken in Ireland in the summer as our weather is so changeable even though we have been quite lucky recently.

                   

what you need:

 – 1 kg potatoes cut into 1cm slices

 – 4 garlic cloves

 – 2 rosemary sprigs, leaves picked

 – 1 lemon – peel it and chop the skin

 – whole free range/organic chicken

 – 150g pancetta cubes

 – butter – I used about 100g

 – 300ml white wine

 – sea salt and black pepper

what to do:

 – pre-heat the oven to 200 degrees

 – put the potatoes into a pot of water, bring to boil, add some salt and simmer gently for about 5 minutes until tender. Drain and set aside.

 – If you have a mini food processor whizz the garlic, butter, lemon peel and rosemary together. If you’re like me and don’t possess one of these most basic kitchen tools, just finely chop the garlic, lemon peel and rosemary and mix together with the butter.

 – starting from the neck of the chicken loosen the skin with your fingers, being careful not to tear it. Spread the paste between the flesh and skin, smoothing it down and around the bird as far as you can go. Cut your peeled lemon in half and stuff into the chicken.

 – layer the potatoes and pancetta in the base of a roasting tin, sit the chicken on top, season and pour over the wine. Roast for 1 and half hours until the chicken is golden and cooked through.

                                          

buon appetito

p.s. TK Maxx in Limerick have “Bialetti” frying pans in stock at the moment and “Bodum” knives!!

