I know it’s June and I’m posting a soup recipe but although the sun maybe shining down on the lovely people at Wimbledon it ain’t shining anywhere near Ireland. Once again like last year we have a band of rain just doing a little “jig” over us and having a great time going round and round and round with no signs of heading over to the rest of Europe who deserve it for a while with the beautiful weather they are having at the moment – me bitter??? NEVER!.

As a result we are all sick again with the flu and I had great intentions of making beef stroganoff from the Silver Spoon but 3 sick “italian foodies” put a stop to that so rather than waste my mushrooms and cream I had bought I made a quick soup to warm the bones. Mushroom soup is one of my favourites and if I had known how simple it was to make in my college days of Campbell’s tinned mushroom soup, life would have been a lot different:) There is nothing fancy about this recipe, it’s just a bowl of simple, fresh goodness.

                                               

what you need:

 – 500g mushrooms sliced

 – 1 small onion finely diced

 – 1 clove garlic finely chopped

 – 20g butter

 – 1 sprig of thyme

 – 4 tbsp plain flour – I didn’t measure so this is a rough estimate.

 – olive oil

 – sea salt and black pepper

 – 1 litre veg stock

 – double cream  – hey I was sick, I needed cheering up!!

what to do:

 – fill the base of a pot with olive oil and butter and cook your onions and garlic until softened but not coloured.

 – add your mushrooms and thyme, cook until soft and season.

 – add your flour to thicken the soup, I love my mushroom soup thick.

 – add your stock and leave to simmer for about 10/15 mins.

 – add some cream, check seasoning and liquidize with a hand blender.

 – serve and enjoy!

                                         

buon appetito!!

