Some of you may be wondering how does this one have time to start another blog while running a business, a house and looking after a child, it’s called FOOTBALL/RUGBY/RYDER CUP. I’ve mentioned before that we have the Italian channels so if we are not watching the Champions League, Internationals, Premiership, UEFA Cup we are watching the Italian version on RAI so rather than sit upstairs watching T.V on my own even though we paid a fortune for the Sky multi-room so that I could do just that but in order to save our relationship I sit on the couch with my laptop on my lap eating a loop de loop as we speak;) I basically don’t watch much T.V.

One thing I have got hooked on though is The Family on Channel 4 on Weds nights, it’s like being a fly on the wall of a normal family living their everyday life and I’m hooked. They are filmed for 100 days and nights, how anybody can do this I don’t know but it’s riveting stuff, I recommend you watch it.. It’s amazing how a normal average family can be so interesting to watch, I think it’s the fact that we can all relate to them, it could be us on the T.V and I think we all love to see how other people live, my favourite is the father, he reminds me of my dad trying to handle 5 women, tough job!! This is why blogging has become so popular I suppose as we all love to get an insight into other people’s lives, well I do anyway, maybe I’m just too nosy;)

Back to the recipe, Jim Flavin my local butcher kindly gave me 2 lovely big juicy T-bones yesterday as a little thank you for mentioning him in my Limerick Leader interview last week so I decided to make this potato bake to accompany it from Ursula Ferrigno’s book “easy italian” which I highly reccomend, it has some really great simple recipes in it. I got my copy in TX Maxx for €6 so if you see it there, buy it!

     

what you need for 6 – I halved the recipe for the 2 of us.

 – 1 kg of old potatoes such as Maris Piper, King Edward or Pentland Crown. Do not use Kerr Pinks as they will not cook through, believe me, we had a raw potato bake after cooking it for 80 mins:(

 – 25g unsalted butter

 – 125g prosciutto slices

 – 450ml milk

 – 250ml cream

 – 225g parmesan cheese

 – freshly grated nutmeg to taste

 – sea salt and black pepper

      
       

what to do:

 – pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees

 – peel the potatoes and slice them really thinly.

 – grease a shallow baking dish with butter.

 – lay the potato slices in the dish overlapping them slightly. Lay the prosciutto slices on top.

 – in a bowl mix together the milk, cream and half the Parmesan cheese and season with nutmeg and salt and pepper.

 – pour the mixture over the potatoes, sprinkle with Parmesan and dot with butter. Repeat and do the same for the second layer.

 – bake in the oven until the potatoes are tender(I wish) for about 45 mins

      

It was such a shame that the potatoes were raw as it had a lovely cheesy, creamy flavour and would have been delicious if cooked through, I made it today and then re-heated it tonight. It was really fast to make and I will definitely make it again with a different potato, there was a lovely aroma in the house too while it was cooking, it would be great to impress guests when they arrive if having a dinner party:).

     

buon appetito!!

