The weather has changed with a vengeance, not that we had much of a summer but the last couple of weeks have been glorious, it’s so hard to go back to this again. If you live in Ireland chances are you will be indoors for the next week so it’s a perfect opportunity to make this pasta as you need to let these tomatoes roast slowly for a couple of hours. When I go shopping I always buy loads of tomatoes and normally make a roast tomato soup or just a simple tomato sauce. I was flicking through one of my pasta books and spotted this recipe which is perfect to use up tomatoes or to produce a really impressive dish when you have very little in the fridge.  

      

what you need:

 – 500g cherry or plum tomatoes – as usual I used tomatoes from SQ

 – 2 garlic cloves finely chopped

 – chilli flakes

– dried oregano

 – olive oil

 – balsamic vinegar

 – pappardelle or fettuccine

 – parmesan cheese

 – salt and black pepper

 

what to do:
 – pre-heat the oven to 150 degrees.

 

 – cut your tomatoes in half and place them cut side up in a oven tray.

 – sprinkle them with your oregano, chilli, garlic, salt and pepper. Drizzle with olive oil and vinegar.

 – roast in the oven until soft and wilted for about an hour and a half.

 – bring a pot of water to the boil, add salt and your pasta and cook until al dente.

 – Drain when cooked, put back in the pot and add some olive oil and mix in some parmesan.

 – serve with your roasted tomatoes on top.

I really enjoyed this pasta and it was a lovely change from my regular tomato sauce, I had some tomatoes left over so I used them in a sandwich the next day with some grilled chicken and brie which was “YUM”.

       

buon appetito!!

