img_4803-22

I was watching Jamie Oliver’s Christmas programme the other night and was a bit dissapointed as I didn’t really like many of the recipes. He used to cook with a lot of Italian influence before but I thought he was more like Nigella this time. I had watched her programme the night before and I always wonder do people actually cook her recipes, there are just way too many ingredients for me and her recipes seem to take a lot of time and you know me and my love of all things simple and quick:) I did like the porchetta that Genaro made though on Jamie’s programme and loved Jamie’s turkey and leek pie. I haven’t made a pie in ages and liked the idea of using creme fraiche instead of cream so I tweaked my own recipe with a bit of Jamie’s.

what you need:

1kg leeks

250g pancetta diced

couple sprigs fresh thyme

1 onion

1 garlic clove

white wine

50oml chicken stock( I don’t use it all)

1 tbsp plain flour

1 tbsp creme fraiche

300g puff pastry defrosted. I buy the 500g pack and just cut off what I need.

sea salt and black pepper

25g butter

olive oil

800g chicken – I used cornfed legs and breasts on the bone.

1 beaten egg for eggwash

what to do:

pre heat your oven to 190 degrees, place your chicken legs and breasts on an oven tray, season with salt and pepper, drizzle with olive oil and cook for about 30-40 mins until golden brown. Leave to cool.

img_4565-1

 

chop your leeks, onion and garlic:

 

img_4531-11img_4555-11

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In a deep pot or pan, heat some olive oil and cook your onions and garlic until soft but not brown:

 

img_4570-1img_4574-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

add your pancetta and thyme:

 

img_4582-1img_4586-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

add the butter and leeks:

 

img_4591-1img_4597-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

cook your leeks for about 5 mins to make sure they are coated in the butter and then cover with a lid and cook over a low heat for about 25-30 mins stirring occasionally:

 

img_4600-1img_4608-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

while your leeks are cooking tear up your chicken, eat ALL the skins(yum) and let your 2 year old help you if you have one:

 

img_4601-1img_4602-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

when your leeks are cooked add a good splash of wine and cook for a couple of mins to let the alcohol evaporate, add what’s left of your roast chicken after being attacked by mother and child:)

 

img_4612-1img_4619-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

add your flour, stir in, add a little stock(I don’t use too much as I don’t like the filling too wet) and add your creme fraiche:

 

img_4621-1img_4624-1 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

mix everything together:

 

img_4633-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

try to roll out your pastry if you can wrestle the rolling pin from 2 year old:

 

img_4637-1img_4639-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

place your filling in a pie dish or oven tray, I have a lovely Le Creuset pie dish I got in TK Maxx for a steal, God I love that place! Cover your filling with the pastry, tuck into the sides and score the top with a sharp knife:

 

img_4642-1img_4649-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

egg wash and cook for about 40 mins until the pastry has risen and is lovely and golden brown:

 

img_4653-1img_4663-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

serve and drool:)

 

img_4776-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This pie is really delicious, really moist and full of flavour, it’s perfect for the holidays if you have visitors coming and you don’t feel like a full dinner after indulging on Christmas day. Like Jamie’s recipe it’s perfect for using leftover turkey too but I prefer chicken.  There is a bit of work involved so you could roast the chicken the day before and it would make life much easier.

Now I’m off for a Peroni after all that photo uploading:)

ciao:)

