img_5635-1

I’ve been very bad for eating fish recently, I don’t know why as I love it but I think I only love it when the sun is shining outside and I’m sitting on the Amalfi coast, I don’t want much do I?  The weather here lends itself to lots of stews, roast meats, soups, anything warm and comforting really. To be honest we don’t have much access to fresh fish here either unless you can get into Rene Cusacks in the city centre so I’m dependant on Superquinn which basically stocks salmon, cod and monk-fish anytime I’m there. I don’t know if it’s due to the recession but lately anytime I’m in there the fish stands have been reduced to 1 and there is very little in stock. I felt like something different last week, I had enough poultry and meat over Christmas so I decided it was time for some fish but it was freezing out so I wanted something hearty and warm. I normally do fish very simply with lemon and herbs but I find that quite summery so I decided on a fish stew but the only fish they had in Superquinn was monk-fish, salmon or sea-bass. I’ve never cooked monkfish so I picked up 2 lovely tails and made a fabulous stew, it was so tasty and full of flavour and it’s going to be on my menu for the future.

what you need:

2 monk-fish tails(sorry I don’t remember the weight)

1 carrot

1 celery stick

1 onion

1 clove garlic

200g cherry tomatoes

selection of herbs – SQ do a a fish herb mix which I used along with some basil. You could use sage, oregano etc.

125ml white wine

350ml veg stock

olive oil

sea salt and black pepper

1 kg potatoes cut into chunks. I cook my potatoes seperately and then add them at the end, I’m sure you can do it all together but sometimes me and potatoes don’t get on:)

what to do:

chop your onions and garlic, heat some olive oil in a casserole dish or pot and cook your onions and garlic until soft but not coloured:

img_5578-111img_5584-11

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

chop your carrot and celery into very small pieces:

img_5586-1img_5587-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

add your celery, carrot and herbs to your onions and cook over a low heat for about 10 mins until softened:

img_5590-1img_5595-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

chop your tomatoes and cut up your monkfish into large chunks:

img_5597-1img_5602-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

add your monkfish to the pot and season:

img_5603-1img_5606-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 cook the fish for about 5-7 mins turning frequently:

img_5607-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

add the tomatoes, wine, basil, lemon and stock and season again:

img_5612-1

img_5615-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

img_5616-1

img_5618-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

put the lid on your pot and leave to simmer over a low heat for about 15 mins until the fish is cooked:

img_5623-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

add your potatoes:

img_5631-12img_5719-21

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

serve and enjoy the praise:

img_5706-11

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

buon appetito!

