img_7904-13

I’m still here but as you may have noticed I have entered the addictive and crazy world of facebook. I have been a bit slow embracing the whole social networking thing, I took a big leap with twitter and after much nagging and encouragement from a lot of people including Sejla my right hand lady in La Cucina and Nick my social networking consultant as I like to call him I took the leap of faith. I put La Cucina on last Tuesday and I’m just bowled over by the response from it. I will never pay for another advertisement in a newspaper again. Facebook as a medium to interact with customers is a must for every small business, it gives a personal face to the business which you can’t get with any other form of advertising etc and I think customers like to be able to engage with you. It also helps that certain members of the Munster team are being very naughty in regards to commenting on each others photos, and they’ve been so good regarding having their photos taken, I keep missing Paul O’Connell though – damn…

Anyway don’t worry I’ve still been cooking and tried out this recipe from the Silver Spoon last week and it was absolutely delicious. I had a jar of salted capers from Sicily in the press for over a year and after confirming on twitter that they were safe to use, thanks Ernie and Olive magazine they worked beautifully in this dish. It was very simple to make but the only fault I can find is that cod is a very soft fish and I question how fresh mine was from Superquinn as it broke up quite badly becoming a bit “mushy”. I also used a stewing pot when I probably should have used a large pan but I know for the next time:)

what you need:

4 courgettes thinly sliced

plain flour for dusting

6 tbsp olive oil

1 onion chopped

1 celery stick chopped

200ml passata

1 tbsp capers, drained, rinsed and chopped

100g green olives, stoned and chopped

600g cod fillets coarsely chopped

tbsp chopped flat leaf parsley

salt and pepper

what to do:

lightly dust the courgettes with flour, shaking off the excess, heat half the oil in a frying pan, add the courgette slices and cook until they are golden brown and strain on kitchen paper.

img_7847-1img_7855-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

heat the remaining oil in a pan, add the onion and celery and cook over a low heat stirring occasionally until soft but not coloured and then add your olives:

 

img_7860-1

img_7866-11

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

add your capers and passata:

 

img_7871-1img_7874-11

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

mix together, simmer for about 10 mins and then add your cod, cook for a few more minutes:

 

img_7877-1img_7883-11

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

add your parsley and courgettes:

 

img_7896-1img_7898-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

season well and simmer over a low heat for about 30 mins and serve:

 

img_7905-1

 

buon appetito!

p.s. if you’re on facebook, come be our friend:) Just mention the blog.

