img_8352-1

We tend to stick to the same pasta recipes in the italian foodie house, penne carbonara, spaghetti with tomato sauce, alio olio pepperoncino so I decided last week it was time for a change! I was glancing through the Silver Spoon for recipes for my rocket when I found this at the back in the chef section which I never look at. It’s from the River Cafe founders Ruth Rogers and Rose Gray and I have to say it’s one of the nicest pastas I’ve had. It’s so simple but the flavours are amazing, the sourness of the creme fraiche combined with the tanginess of the lemon and the bitterness of the rocket(I should be on Market Kitchen), they really work well together. It’s a very light and summery dish and would be perfect for a summer lunch with friends.

img_8344-1

what you need for 4:

tub creme fraiche(I can’t remember the size, but I bought the regular size in superquinn) The recipe says 250ml for 6 but I think I used that for 4! I’ll come back with tub size…..

finely grated rind and juice of 1/2 lemon

500g dried tagliatelle

100g rocket leaves chopped

100g parmesan grated

sea salt and black pepper

 

img_8353-1

what to do:

pour the creme fraiche into a bowl, stir in the lemon rind and juice and season with salt and pepper

bring a pan or water to the boil, add salt and your pasta and cook until al dente

drain your pasta and return to the pot

pour in the creme fraiche mix, add the majority of your rocket and parmesan cheese and toss to combine

serve with remaining rocket and parmesan on top

 img_8281-1img_8285-2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

img_8293-11img_8295-11

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

serve with a chilled glass of Italian white, Soave in my case:

 

img_8332-1

 

buon appetito!

