IMG_8690-1

I know, I know, I’ve been a bad blogger but I’ve been very busy with work and haven’t actually cooked that much to be honest. I’ve been very bold eating sandwiches for dinner and lots of take-away from the MIL but she’s sick of me now so it’s time to get back into the kitchen. The madness at La Cucina will stop now as the students are finished in UL, the Munster lads are heading off for the Irish tour and the Lions so I’ll probably have too much time for cooking so I’ll make it up to you I promise. My veggies seem to be coming on okay even though we’re under a permanent rain cloud at the moment, I had a rocket salad from the garden last night with pecorino cheese and it was absolutely delicious and so exciting to be eating something I grew myself, I’m easily pleased:)

This recipe is such a nice way to cook chicken legs and thighs which are my favourite part of the chicken anyway, I’m not a breast woman;) It’s very rustic, simple and bursting with flavour, it takes a bit of time to cook but is worth it. My photos aren’t great as I took them at 9pm last night in a hurry but you get the idea:)

what you need for 2:

6 chicken pieces – I used 3 legs and 3 thighs

3 sage leaves chopped – from my garden hmm hmm (can you imagine how unbearable I will be if the veg grows)

zest of 2 lemons

4 shallots finely chopped

4 tbsp olive oil

plain flour

350ml dry white wine

chicken stock (optional)

sea salt and black pepper

what to do:

– heat your oil in a deep pan and dust your chicken pieces with flour

– add the chicken to the pan and cook over a medium heat until golden brown all over, transfer the chicken to a plate

– add the lemon zest, sage and shallots to the pan and cook over a low heat for about 7-10 mins until onions are soft but not coloured

– add the chicken back to the pan, season and pour your wine over the chicken. Simmer for about an hour over a low heat until the chicken is cooked and tender and the wine has evaporated. If your chicken dries out during cooking add a little stock.(mine didn’t) There isn’t a sauce as such in the end, just the onion and the cooking juices but it’s damn good….

– serve your chicken with some roast potatoes and rocket from your garden if you have any:) If not I’ll send you some….

IMG_8700-1

