IMG_8833-2

wow, wow, wow, we actually got to eat outside and it was HOT!. This might seem a bit strange to my International readers but everything you’ve heard about Ireland and its bad weather is true, it is not exaggerated or fabricated, we do live under a permanent grey cloud. I can assure you there were many happy people sitting in their homes this week watching the weather forecast telling us we were actually going to see sunshine for a few days in a row. I for one have been taking complete advantage of the last few days and have spent the entire time in my garden and that included eating. I even got a farmer’s tan while doing the weeding -very attractive:)

I’ve mentioned before that I don’t eat enough fish but I always seem to associate fish with holidays and warm weather and seen as I haven’t had either of these in a while fish hasn’t featured on the italian foodie menu for a long time. That all changed this week and we had this lovely simple tuna dish with a caper and lemon dressing yesterday and thoroughly enjoyed it.

IMG_8825-1

what you need:

2 tuna steaks

5 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

zest and juice of 1/2 lemon

1 tbsp flat leaf parsley

1 tbsp salted capers – washed

sea salt and black pepper

IMG_8839-1

what to do:

in a bowl put your oil, lemon, capers, parsley and season.

heat a dry grill pan, season your tuna steaks and rub with olive oil. Cook the tuna for about 8 mins on each side depending how you like them cooked. I left mine rare and by the time I ate it, it had cooked through so be warned.

serve the tuna with the dressing on top and a simple salad.

IMG_8811-2

and the best thing about all of this is we get to drink a few beers in our garden we spent a fortune on last year:)

IMG_8857-1

ciao:)

