IMG_9687-2

I have spoken about my love for puff pastry tarts before, I always have a pack in the freezer for when I’m feeling lazy and not up to cooking anything too complicated. This tart was really good, I normally do my asparagus tarts with mozzarella but I saw a recipe with mascarpone when flicking though one of Olive’s recipe booklets and it worked really well. The mascarpone gives it a really creamy consistency and works so well with the asparagus and parmesan. Mascarpone is a pretty bland cheese so I used a lot of parmesan and seasoning to flavour it, I added a drizzle of balsamic and we had a little piece of heaven;)

I don’t have exact measurements.

what you need:

asparagus(I used 4 per tart)

mascarpone cheese (250g tub I think)

puff pastry rounds

grated parmesan (lots of)

sea salt and black pepper

balsamic vinegar

what to do:

heat the oven to 200 degrees

cook the asparagus for about 5 mins until just tender.

mix the mascarpone with lots of grated parmesan to taste and season with salt and pepper.

spread the cheese over the puff pastry leaving a border.

place the asparagus on top and sprinkle with more parmesan.

drizzle a little balsamic vinegar over the tart.

bake for about 20-25 mins until pastry is golden and serve.

IMG_9697-1

