Hello *waves*, remember me? I used to write a food blog about Italian food. I used to post about twice a week but I have been very bad the last few months but I’m sticking to my new year’s resolution and I’m going to make a bigger effort this year I swear. I come begging for your forgiveness with this sausage and bean stew recipe which I know won’t make up for all the lost time and recipes I haven’t given you but it’s a step in the right direction and with time and lots of fabulous new recipes you might learn to forgive me, pretty please:)

Anyway back to business, we’ve a lot of catching up to do! This recipe is very easy, try and get your hands on Italian sausages if you can, if not I’m sure regular sausages might work fine too. We have pre-packed Italian sausages in La Cucina in our retail fridge, I also have fresh ones in the freezer which are even nicer so just ask for them if you prefer.

what you need:

1 onion finely chopped

2 carrots chopped

2 celery sticks chopped

4 Italian sausages, skin removed and cut into chunks

1 tbsp plain flour

1 tin peeled chopped tomatoes(de cecco if you can)

300g pancetta cubes

200ml beef stock

400g tin cannellini beans drained

1 bay leaf

1 sprig of rosemary leaves picked

salt and pepper

3 tbsp olive oil

1 glass of red wine for the stew and 1 glass for you…

what to do

heat the olive oil in a casserole pot and fry the onions until soft but not coloured.

add your carrots and celery, rosemary and bay leaf and cook for about 10 mins over a medium heat.

add the pancetta and sausage and cook for 5 mins stirring with a wooden spoon.

mix in the flour and cook for a few minutes, keep stirring.

add in the wine and cook for about 5 mins until the alcohol evaporates.

add the tomatoes, stock and cannellini beans, season and bring to the boil.

Cover the pot and cook for about 30-40 minsover a low heat  until the sausages are cooked and the sauce has thickened.

serve with some nice crusty bread:)

buon appetito…

p.s. there was an interesting article done on us and how we use social media to promote our business, have a read here if you’re interested.

