One of the main problems I have when deciding what to cook for dinner is choosing between meat or chicken and meat consisting of beef or lamb. It is next to impossible to get any veal or rabbit in my area and the selection of fish in my local Supermarket consists of salmon or cod and monkfish the odd time. I know I can’t really blame them as the demand is obviously not there and if I got myself organised I could probably source it from one of the suppliers to the shop but organised doesn’t really exist in my vocabulary so it’s always a last minute decision.  I did branch out last week though and cooked duck breasts with limoncello sauce compliments of Gino D’Acampo and they were delicious so I’m going to try and cook a bit more game.

Because of my lack of menu planning and selection of produce I do tend to cook chicken quite regularly. I always tend to stick to the usual white wine, lemon, herb recipes but I saw this in the Silver Spoon and thought it would be a nice change. It’s perfect for the winter as it’s a very, rich and comforting dish and most importantly easy to make.

what you need:

chicken thighs and legs( about 6 for 2 people)

30g butter

100g pancetta diced

6 baby onions(shallots) peeled

1 garlic clove peeled

100g mushrooms sliced

1 thyme sprig leaves picked

1 tbsp plain flour

250ml red wine

sea salt and black pepper

chicken stock(optional)

what to do:

melt the butter in a pan, add the pancetta, onions, garlic, mushrooms and thyme and cook over a low heat for about 10 mins.

Sprinkle with the flour, mix and remove the garlic clove.

Add the chicken, cover and cook for about 10 mins.

Pour in the wine, season with salt and pepper.

Cover and simmer over a low heat  for about 30 mins until tender and cooked through. Add a little water or stock if sauce is too thick during cooking.

buon appetito…

