We were out in the Kilalloe Sunday market a couple of weeks back and got our hands on some lovely fresh mussels. I picked up some scallops too and mixed fish which I plan to use for fish pie, I’ve put them in the freezer and they will probably be there until next year though knowing me, but I will try. The guy on the stall is very good and knows his stuff, he had huge octupus there but I wouldn’t have a clue what to do with it so I passed but they looked fab.

Most restaurants in Ireland seem to serve mussels with cream and although I do like it this way I often find that it lacks flavour. We brought an Italian chef out to eat a couple of times when he was here last year and he was shocked that we squeeze lemon juice over mussels in a cream sauce, supposedly it’s a big NO, NO!! The same guy never cooks garlic and onion together either which is another mortal sin according to Italian chefs, I don’t think he slept for a month after seeing cream in carbonara and pineapple on pizza:)

what you need:

mussels – I have no measurements as he didn’t weigh them but if we say roughly 900g.

2 tbsp olive oil

1 garlic clove crushed

150ml white wine

6 tbsp tomato sauce – we use our own tomato sauce from La Cucina but you could just use some passata or regular chopped tomatoes.

1 tbsp flat leaf parsley

1 small onion chopped

what to do:

heat your oil in a pan, add your onion and garlic(and chopped tomatoes if using) and cook until soft but not coloured.

add the wine and cook until it has evaporated, add your tomato sauce.

add the mussels and cover with a lid, simmer in the sauce for about 5 mins until the shells have opened. Add your parsley and discard any unopened shells.

serve with some lemon wedges, a sprinkle of flat leaf parlsey and some crusty bread.

ciaoxx

