A one tray recipe for you today, my favourite!!! I LOVE rib of beef, it’s such a lovely cut and very easy to cook. I often cook this dish when friends are coming around as it’s easy to prepare and always goes down well. I took my photos at night so they’re not the best but you get the idea:)

what you need:

rib of beef – mine was 1.7kg so that I would have some leftover for sambos…..

english mustard

8 shallots

baby potatoes peeled

1 tbsp soft brown sugar

1 tbsp balsamic vinegar

sea salt and black pepper

olive oil

what to do:

heat your oven to 230 degrees.

cook your potatoes in plenty of salted water until par-cooked.

place your beef in a roasting tin and rub your beef all over with mustard and season.

cook for 10 mins

reduce the heat to 180 degrees and add your shallots and potatoes, drizzle with a little olive oil and cook for 15 minutes per 500g of meat for rare meat. I cooked mine for nearly an hour.

remove the meat from the roasting tray, cover with foil and leave to rest for about 10 mins, turn off your oven and leave your potatoes in there to keep warm.

put the shallots in a frying pan and add sugar and balsamic and cook for a couple of mins until caramelised.

if you want to make a gravy use the juice from your roasting tray and add a tbsp of flour, some red wine and beef stock and simmer for a couple of mins, then drain. I prefer it without gravy….

serve and enjoy the admiration:)

