I’ve been very bold on the veg growing this year, basically life got in the way and it was way down my list of priorities. surprisingly my rocket came up again even though I thought we had dug it all up but it decided to hang around for another summer much to my delight. The only issue I have is that it is too bitter, it nearly burns the mouth off you, is there different varieties or is that just the way wild rocket is?

Anyway we had nowt to eat in the house the other night and the weather was fab and being the lazy lumps we are the bbq was still dirty from the last time and neither of us were in the mood for cleaning it, I offered mini Italian foodie money but she takes after her parents so something else had to be consumed for the dinner. I actually had all the ingredients for a rocket pesto even though my lemon was a little past it’s sell by date but was used anyway. This recipe is really as simple as it gets, I’ll give you rough amounts but I made it by taste because the rocket was so bitter I had to add a lot of parmesan and a sweet balsamic to counteract it so you do the same. This will make probably make enough for 4-6 people, I just used it for the 3 of us, covered it in olive oil and left it in the fridge to be used again a couple of days later…

what you need:

2 large bunches of rocket , slice off the stems

65g toasted pine nuts – dry hot pan and toss!

zest of 1 unshrivelled lemon preferably

1 garlic clove peeled

4tbsp olive oil

2-4 tbsp balsamic vinegar depending on rocket, add to taste

50g+ grated parmesan, again add to taste, I’d say I used more

sea salt and black pepper

300g fettucine(for 2 people)

         what to do:

put all of the pesto ingredients into a food processor or smoothie maker in my case, don’t ask!! Whiz until blended smooth and thick, taste and adjust seasoning, parmesan, balsamic etc until it’s perfect! It should taste frickin fantastic, it really is good, summery, light, zesty, absolutely delicious…

cook the pasta in salted boiling water until al dente and drain….

toss the pasta with the pesto and serve with some extra rocket and parmesan cheese on top…

ciaoxx

p.s. it’s good to be back….

