Well hello…

I’m still here, it’s been a busy summer with work and swanning off to Italy twice, I keep threatening every month to get back blogging but never did and I know every time I do a new post I say I’m back so I won’t say that today! I’ll just give you a recipe, I should probably mention I’ve changed my diet completely since we talked last and I’ll talk about it in detail at a later stage but it’s mainly involved giving up carbs*GASP*, an Italian Foodie not eating pizza or pasta???? I never believed I would be saying that but I’ve done it and I’m on my 3rd month and feel a hundred times better, it doesn’t mean I’ve stopped cooking them or anything, the Italian half of the family still have to be fed but I just have something else!

So today’s recipe is my latest “Facebook Cookalong”, winter is here so it’s time for comforting, hearty food and nothing fills that description better than a warm and tasty stew! I’ve done a beef stew and a sausage stew here before so it was time for a simple chicken stew…

what you need:

6-8 chicken legs/thighs (you can use breasts if you prefer)
1 carrot
1 stick celery
1 onion
1 garlic clove
3/4 potatoes
1 400g tin chopped tomatoes
100g pancetta(leave out or use chopped up bacon if you can’t get your hands on some)
1 chicken stock cube
olive oil
sea salt
black pepper
1 sprig thyme
8 basil leaves
6 tbsp white wine

what to do:

heat 5tbsp of olive oil in a pot, coat your chicken in seasoned flour and brown your chicken all over, drain on kitchen paper…

add your onions and garlic to the pot, add a little more olive oil if required and cook for about 10 mins until soft but not coloured…

add your carrots, celery and thyme and cook for another 10 mins…

add your pancetta, turn up the heat and cook for 5-8 mins…

add your wine and cook until the alcohol has evaporated…

add your potatoes, tomatoes, stock, return your chicken to the pot and season…

simmer for about 30 mins over a low heat…

add your basil and cook for another 10-15 mins…

serve and eat…

buon appetito xx
