Yep it’s that time of year again, it’s cold, it’s winter so that can only mean lots of hearty soups.  I make this once a week without fail as it’s Mini Italian Foodie’s favourite soup, if I get into the Milk Market on a Saturday there is a small stand  run by an organic farmer from Tipperary and he has fabulous organic spinach. If I don’t make it in Superquinn have Irish spinach in stock at the moment which is pretty good too. This recipe is as simple as it gets, the only difficult thing is washing the spinach and breaking off the stems which can take a while, I always get mini Italian Foodie to help me even though she makes more of a mess but it gets her eating the soup because she is involved in the production, there ain’t many 3 year olds who confess to spinach soup being their favourite, she’s also started eating kiwis lately so times are good:)

I use meat stock for this recipe as I think it gives the soup a great depth of flavour but you can also use chicken or veg stock if you prefer…

what you need:

1 carrot chopped

1 stick celery chopped

1 onion chopped

1 garlic clove chopped

2 bags of spinach(I can’t rem the weight)

30g butter

olive oil

sea salt and black pepper

1 ltr meat stock

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

what to do:

heat 3 tbsp oil and your butter

add your onions and garlic and cook for about 5 mins over a low heat until soft

add your carrots and celery and cook for a further 10 mins

add your stock and simmer for 10 mins

add your spinach and season and simmer for 10-15 until all your veg is soft

liquidize and serve with parmesan cheese and a drizzle of olive oil

Hellooooo! I’m in the spoon if you’re looking for me:)

