You may have noticed I’ve got back into my blogging stride, I always did 2 posts a week back in the day but with time pressures and life in general I’ve just accepted that one post is enough and it’s all I have time for. I’ve allocated Sunday afternoons to the blog so I’m happy to say you should see a new post on a weekly basis. Since I started my new way of eating which I discussed in my last post I’ve incorporated a lot more fish into my diet, I always felt guilty about not eating enough fish so at least the diet has helped me overcome that.

I have to come clean and confess I had never eaten mackerel before,  I was a bit of a mackerel snob if I am to be completely honest, I thought of it as a cheap and unappealing fish even though I always loved the colour of the skin. Well, how wrong I was, I have it a couple of times a week now and find it so quick and easy to cook with, I can’t believe how cheap it is too, €1.86 for the 2 pieces in the photo PLUS the big positive about mackerel is it’s not farmed, it actually comes from the sea which is a rare occurence these days:(

I served this with green beans in a shallot dressing, I’ll post the recipe next week….

what you need for 2:

4/5 mackerel fillets

30g butter(I think, I never weigh anything)

6-8 sage leaves

plain flour(if you are low carbing don’t use any, it’s still lovely)

olive oil

sea salt and black pepper

what to do:

heat 2 tbsp of olive oil in a pan

coat your mackerel in seasoned flour

cook with skin side down until the fish has begun to turn white half way from the bottom, takes about 3-5 mins

turn the fish over and cook for only 1-2 mins, remove fish from the pan

add your butter and sage and cook for 1-2 mins until butter has melted

serve your fish with the sage butter on top and a sprinkle of sea salt

buon appetito xx

