So my little rant last week caused quite a stir, I never in a million years expected the reaction that it received. It went crazy over on twitter and I got such a positive reaction over there and on here. I just want to say a big thank you to everyone who took time to comment on the blog, twitter and Facebook, it obviously hit a chord and it’s great to know that others feel and think the same. There is so much shouting from political circles, unions and special interest groups that the ordinary person on the street never gets heard and we are the ones getting on with it. The internet has become the voice of the people I suppose as no one at the top cares to listen to what we have to say, we are just told what we are supposed to do and get on with it, I really hope things start to change going into 2011 as there are lots of us out there who want it to and see the need for it to happen. I have a lot more ranting inside but I’ll keep it under wraps for today and give you a lovely little recipe instead…..

This is very simple but one of my favourite ways to eat courgettes, I pick up baby courgettes in Superquinn all the time even though they are not in season anymore and they aren’t Irish, even though I think courgettes need sun and the Irish courgettes tend to be a bit bland anyway so I always try to get Spanish or Italian courgettes. I find it very difficult to eat veg in season here as I’m not a carrot, parsnip or turnip lover, I don’t really do root vegetables, I prefer baby broccoli, courgettes, spinach, garden peas, asparagus and aubergines. I don’t really like Irish floury potatoes either, I much prefer a waxy potato, it’s just personal taste but I think I may live in the wrong country:)

what you need:

courgettes – baby cut in half or regular sliced

pink garlic

1 sprig of thyme

olive oil

sea salt

black pepper

grated parmesan cheese

what to do:

pre-heat your oven to 190 degrees

place your chopped courgettes in an oven dish

sprinkle some chopped garlic and thyme on top

season with salt and pepper and drizzle some olive oil over your courgettes

cook for 15-20 mins

sprinkle your grated parmesan cheese over the top for the last 5 mins

serve with a smile….

ciao

Lxx

