or to you and me MAC & CHEESE!!!

Happy new year y’all! We had a lovely relaxing Christmas in the Italian Foodie house this year, we went to the Italians for Christmas dinner as per usual and then out to the Oirish on Stephen’s day. We didn’t cook much this year except on New Year’s we went all out and did a 3 course spread even though my 2 year old nephew sabotaged my beef wellington by turing down the oven twice without anyone noticing and me scratching my head trying to figure out why my pastry wasn’t browing and thinking the oven must be broken, we caught him in the act eventually but it was too late by then, I didn’t sleep for days after my first failure in the kitchen and in front of guests and everything! I have a reputation to uphold ya know:)

Anyway a bit of comfort food for you today even though I know I should be cooking healthy recipes with it being January and everything but it’s dark and miserable so nothing like a comforting mac & cheese to cheer one up. This is the latest Facebook Cookalong so if you make it be sure to post a pic of the end product over on our page grazie….

what you need:

Facebook cookalong shopping list….

Serves 4

500g macaroni – I could only get it in Tesco! Penne is fine too:)

75g cheddar cheese grated

75g emmental cheese grated

75g parmesan

75g pecorino

1 ball of mozzarella cut into cubes (I had to use mini mozz as I didn’t have reg)

150g peas(1 mug)

3 egg yolks

15g butter

5 slices of ham chopped

300ml double cream

sea salt and black pepper

what to do

pre-heat the oven to 200 degrees

bring a pot of water to the boil add salt and your macaroni and cook until aldente. Drain and return to the saucepan off the heat

melt the butter in a frying pan and fry the ham until crispy, leave aside

add your cream, and your cheese to your pasta(keep some parmesan & pecorino for the top), return to the heat for 1 min and mix together

remove from the heat and add your ham, peas, mozzarella and egg yolks, season and mix together well

pour your pasta into a greased oven dish and top with remaining parmesan and pecorino

cook in the oven for 15-20 mins until nice and golden on the top

devour:)

ciao

L xx

