img_6268-12

Today was one of those days where I really had nothing in the fridge or cupboard, the princess was starving and I didn’t even have a slice of bread for toast – I know “bad mama”! My herbs are still alive in the garden except for the oregano, I had some butter and garlic in the fridge, lots of dried pasta so a very simple pasta was served for lunch. I normally have butter and sage with spinach and ricotta ravioli which I absolutely love but it works perfectly with a plain pasta too. The princess has developed a strange reaction to all things green, she thinks everything green is basil and has decided she doesn’t like it, I’m beginning to doubt her Italian gene and no I don’t know my postman;) I just removed the sage leaves and she loved it! I know I harp on a lot about simple dishes but would you ever think that such a simple dish with minimum effort could be so tasty, try it and see for yourself!

what you need for 2:

275g dried pasta – fettuccine, tagliatelle or stuffed pasta like ravioli or tortellini.

40g butter (kerrygold is alwasy used in this house)

1 garlic clove peeled and halved

6- 8 sage leaves

grated Parmesan cheese

what to do:

bring a pot of water to the boil, add salt, your pasta and cook until al dente:

img_6246-1img_6272-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

while your pasta is cooking, heat your butter and garlic until golden. DO NOT BURN your butter(note to self). Lets just say a 2 year old shouldn’t eat raw pasta, it can be a distraction.

 

img_6253-11img_6261-11

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

cook for a few seconds and remove your garlic:

 

img_6265-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

drain your pasta when cooked and add to your pan:

 

img_6278-11img_6286-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

serve with lots of Parmesan:

 

img_6305-12

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

buon appetito!!

p.s. we’ve made the long list in the Irish blog awards, yahooo!